This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Ramendra Chandra Nath elected Speaker in Tripura for 3rd term

Last Updated: Friday, March 15, 2013 - 15:43

Agartala: Ramendra Chandra Nath was on Friday elected unopposed as the Speaker of the Tripura Legislative Assembly for the third straight term.

As the proceedings began, Protem Speaker Niranjan Debbarma announced that he had received three sets of nominations for the post of Speaker from only Ramendra Chandra Debnath and as no other nomination had been filed, he declared him elected unopposed as the Speaker.

After the announcement, Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and opposition MLA, Sudip Roy Burman, who is also the President of Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) went to Nath and escorted him to the dais for occupying his chair.

The Leader of the Opposition is yet to be appointed.

A former advocate, Debnath, was first elected as the Speaker in 2003 and till then completed his full two terms.

In the February 14 elections, the ruling Left Front secured fifty seats while the opposition Congress secured only 10 seats in the 60-member house.


First Published: Friday, March 15, 2013 - 15:43

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus