Tripura Congress MLA quits assembly, to rejoin CPI-M

Tripura Assembly Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath said Jitendra Sarkar has submitted his resignation to him and he had accepted it.

Agartala: In a dramatic turn of events, Congress legislator Jitendra Sarkar on Monday resigned from the Tripura assembly and said he was rejoining the ruling CPI-M.

Assembly Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath told IANS that Sarkar submitted his resignation to him and he had accepted it.

Immediately after his resignation, Sarkar told the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) that he would rejoin the party.

The development came amid reported efforts by the Trinamool Congress to split the Congress legislators' group.

A former veteran leader of the CPI-M and a former speaker of the Tripura assembly, Sarkar joined the Congress with his supporters in March 2010.

The 71-year-old Sarkar was elected to the assembly five times since 1978 from Teliamura constituency in west Tripura. But he was denied re-nomination by the CPI-M in 2008.

CPI-M state secretary Bijan Dhar told IANS: "Sarkar uphold political morality by joining his original party (CPI-M) instead of Trinamool."

In 2013, Sarkar was elected to the state assembly from Barjala constituency as a Congress candidate by a narrow margin.

"Of late the moves by Sudip Roy Barman and his followers to join the Trinamool Congress and the pulls and pressures from different factions had upset Sarkar," a close associate of Sarkar said.

Trinamool Congress Vice President Mukul Roy, who came here on a day's visit on Friday, met seven disgruntled Congress legislators including Sarkar -- just before the latter quit the assembly.

One of the seven, suspended Congress legislator Sudip Roy Barman, recently resigned from the post protesting against the Congress-Left alliance in the recent West Bengal assembly elections.

The Congress has 10 legislators in the 60-member Tripura assembly.

Meanwhile, Tripura Congress state president Birajit Sinha on Monday urged the Speaker to act under the anti-defection law against six Congress legislators: Sudip Roy Barman, Ashish Saha, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, Pranjit Singha Roy, Jitendra Sarkar and Biswabandhu Sen.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link