BJD elects Naveen Patnaik president for fifth time

Last Updated: Monday, January 28, 2013 - 15:07

Bhubaneswar: Odisha`s ruling Biju Janata Dal on Monday elected Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik its president for the fifth time in a row.
Patnaik was the only candidate to have filed nomination papers for the post. "He was elected unopposed," the party`s returning officer and government chief whip Prabhat Tripathy told reporters.
The BJD was founded by Naveen Patnaik after the death of his father Biju Patnaik in 1997. The organisational elections of the party are held every three years.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, January 28, 2013 - 15:07

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus