BJD names candidates for Rajya Sabha by-polls

Last Updated: Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 13:50

Bhubaneswar: Odisha`s ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday named its candidates for the Rajya Sabha by-elections for two seats from the state.

BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced that former minister AU Singhdeo and Bhupinder Singh will be the party candidates for the July 3 elections.
The by-polls were necessitated following the election of party leaders Sashi Bhushan Behera and Rabinarayan Mohapatra to the state Assembly.
The BJD is set to retain both the seats on its own strength.


First Published: Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 13:50

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus