This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Orissa: Five Maoists surrender

Last Updated: Friday, September 2, 2011 - 21:42

Rourkela: Five cadre Maoists including
three from neighbouring Jharkhand, on Friday surrendered before
the police here along with arms and ammunition.

The five were active members of armed cadre platoon
no 22 of the `Chotanagpur division` and were involved in
ambushes, blasting of schools, Public Health Centres and
police outposts in Orissa and Jharkhand.

They were Manoj Lakra (30), Anomol Tirkey (21), Saban
Kerketa (19), Atwa Munda (20) and Mahewaswar Singh (19).
DIG (Western Range) YK Jethwa said.

Lakra, Tirkey and Kerketa hailed from Raidihi in
Jharkhand and Munda and Singh belonged to Chandiposh in
Sundargarh district.

They surrendered rifles and a pistol and ammunition
besides `uniforms`.


First Published: Friday, September 2, 2011 - 21:42

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus