Three new Orissa HC judges sworn-in

Last Updated: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 21:38

Cuttack: Three new judges were administered oath as additional judges of the Orissa High Court here Thursday.

Chief Justice C Nagappan administered the oath of offices to Justice Bidyut Ranjan Sarangi, Justice Biswajit Mohanty and Justice Akshaya Kumar Rath as additional judges of the court.

Many former judges of the High Court, Advocate General Ashok Kumar Mohanty and members of the bar council were present at the swearing-in ceremony which was held inside the court premises.

State cabinet minister Devi Prasanna Mishra and police commissioner Sunil K Ray also attended the ceremony.

With this, the strength of the judges in the High Court went up to 15, including the Chief Justice. Prior to their new assignments, the three new judges were practising as lawyers of the High Court.

Immediately after the swearing-in ceremony, the three new judges presided over their respective benches on the day.


First Published: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 21:38

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus