Saba Anjum to lead India in Champions Challenge hockey
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 15:03
New Delhi: Experienced striker Saba Anjum will lead the Indian women's hockey team in the Champions Challenge I tournament to be held in Dublin, Ireland from June 18-26 in the absence of regular skipper Surinder Kaur, who opted out of the event citing family problems.

Hockey India selectors B P Govinda, Syed Ali, Rekha Bhide, Rajbir Kaur and Sita Mehta besides government observers Harbinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey picked up the 18-member team after trials held here recently.

Apart from Saba, the forwardline will also have vice-captain Jasjeet Kaur Handa, Rani, Anuradha Devi, Chanchan Devi, Soundarya Yendala and Poonam.

Leaving aside seven forwards, the squad comprise of two goalkeepers, three defenders and six mid-fielders.

According to a statement, the selectors have also handpicked four stand-bys in E Rajini (goalkeeper), Vaishali Sul (defender), Rashmi Singh (forward) and Roselin Dung Dung (forward).

The Indian team qualified for the eight-nation event after winning the FIH Champions Challenge II at Kazan, Russia in 2009.

Eight teams have been drawn in two pools and the matches will be conducted on a league-cum-knockout format.

India have been drawn in Pool B alongside Spain, Azerbaijan and hosts Ireland while Pool A consists of Japan South Africa, United States and Scotland.

The Indian eves will open their campaign against Ireland on June 18, followed by matches against Spain (June 19) and Azerbaijan (June 21).

The semifinals and final of the event will be played on June 25 and 26.

Team: Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita.

Defenders: Joydeep Kaur, Jaspreet Kaur, Preeti Sunila Kiro.

Midfielders: Asunta Lakra, Ritu Rani, Roselind Ralte, Deepika, Kirandeep Kaur, Mukta Prava Barla.

Forwards: Saba Anjum (captain), Rani, Jasjeet Kaur Handa (vice-captain), Anuradha Devi, Chanchan Devi, Soundarya Yendala, Poonam.

Standbys: E Rajini (goalkeeper), Vaishali Sul (defender) Rashmi Singh (forward), Roselin Dung Dung (forward)


First Published: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 15:03

comments powered by Disqus