Congress retains Chandigarh`s Mayor post

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 15:24

Chandigarh: Congress retained the post of Mayor of Chandigarh, the election to which was held here on Wednesday, with HC Kalyan defeating the BJP-SAD candidate.

Kalyan defeated BJP-SAD candidate Rajinder Kaur Rattu, an election office spokesman said here.

In the 36-member House, Kalyan bagged 21 votes as against 14 by Rattu. One vote was declared invalid, the spokesman said.
The post this year was reserved for Scheduled Caste candidate.

Kalyan, councillor from Maloya, will replace Shubash Chawla.

However, BJP sprung a surprise by bagging both the posts of Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor, the elections to which were also held here.

BJP`s Heera Negi edged out Congress candidate Sat Prakash Aggarwal by 18-17 votes for the post of Senior Deputy Mayor. One vote was invalid.

Another BJP candidate Davesh Moudgil defeated Congress` Sheela Phool Singh by 19-16 votes for the post of Deputy Mayor. One vote was declared invalid.
At present, there are 12 councillors of Congress, 11 of BJP-SAD, two of BSP and one Independent in the 36-member Chandigarh Municipal Corporation. Besides, there are nine nominated councillors who have voting rights. Besides, local MP Pawan Kumar Bansal of Congress too have voting rights.

The term of the Mayor is for one year.


First Published: Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 15:24

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus