Khadoor Sahib by-poll: Counting of votes today

The by-poll to Khadoor Sahib Assembly seat was necessitated after Congress MLA Ramanjit Singh Sikki resigned last year.

PTI| Updated: Feb 16, 2016, 08:59 AM IST

Chandigarh: Counting of votes for the Khadoor Sahib Assembly seat in Punjab would be taken up on Tuesday.

58 percent voting was witnessed in the by-poll to Khadoor Sahib Assembly seat in Tarn Taran district on February 13, an official spokesman for the Election Commission said.

The by-poll was necessitated after Congress MLA Ramanjit Singh Sikki resigned last year in protest against sacrilege of the Guru Granth Sahib.

There were seven contestants in the fray but among the main political parties, only Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has put up his candidate. Congress and AAP did not field any candidate for the by-poll.

Ravinder Singh Brahampura, son of Akali stalwart, Ranjit Singh Brahampura is contesting on SAD ticket. The six others are Puran Singh of BSP (Ambedkar) and Independents - Sumel Singh Sidhu (AAP rebel), Bhupinder Singh Bittu (Congress rebel), Sukhdev Singh, Harjit Singh and Anantjit Singh Sandhu.