12 Atomic power units to come up by 2012: NPCIL
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, May 14, 2010, 00:49
Kota: The Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) will install 12 atomic units in the country by the 2012, its Chairman-cum-Managing Director Dr S N Jain has said.

Of these, six units would be set up in technical collaboration with American companies and the remaining six units be set up with indigenous technology, Jain told reporters at Rajasthan Atomic Power Stations campus in Rawatbhata town yesterday.

The capacity of these units would be 1000 to 10,000 megawatts, the CMD said.

Jain said that work on the first stage of setting up of the four units of 70 MWS would begin, though out of them two had already commemced in Fatehpur in Haryana and Chutks in Jabalpur.

He said that big deposits of uranium had been recently discovered in Africa, Namibia, and Nigeria, and talks were on with these countries for purchase of uranium mine by India there.


First Published: Friday, May 14, 2010, 00:49

Tag: NPCILAtomic
comments powered by Disqus