BJP wins 23 Zila Parishads, Cong 9 in Rajasthan panchyat polls

 BJP has bagged majority in 23 of the 33 Zila Parishads in Rajasthan as Congress managed nine in the keenly fought Panchayati Raj polls.

Jaipur: BJP has bagged majority in 23 of the 33 Zila Parishads in Rajasthan as Congress managed nine in the keenly fought Panchayati Raj polls.

However, the ruling party lost two Zila Parishads and formed its board in 21 of them while Congress formed its board in 12, in the Zila Pramukh elections held today.

Apart from the nine Zila Parishads, Congress managed to put up its Pramukhs in Jhunjhunu, Alwar and Nagaur in the Zila Pramukh election by ward members.

In Jhunjhunu, both the parties had won equal number of ward member seats while one seat was secured by an independent candidate.

Congress won 22 out of 47 ward member seats in Nagaur but the party's candidate for Zila Pramukh, which is elected by the Ward members, got 26 votes, paving way for a Congress board in the district.

The party also managed to make its Zila Pramukh in Alwar, where BJP was in majority.

Apart from these three, Congress Zila Pramukhs are in Banswara, Barmer, Bikaner, Bundi, Dausa, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Kota, and Sawaimadhopur Zila Parishads.

BJP formed its boards in Ajmer, Baran, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dholpur, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk, Jodhpur and Udaipur Zila Parishads.

Both BJP and Congress have expressed satisfaction over the results.

BJP state president Ashok Parnami said the party has for the first time won so many seats in panchayat elections.

"As compared to vote share in earlier Panchayat elections, the vote share of BJP has increased this time which shows that BJP has now become a main party in rural areas of the state also," Parnami told reporters.

Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje said the success of the party in Panchayat elections was the victory of the state government's one year of "good governance".

"The results show that people have validated good governance of the BJP government. The government worked for overall development of the state and this victory is the result of that," Raje said in a statement.

PCC President Sachin Pilot compared the vote share of Panchayat elections with that of 2014 Lok Sabha elections and said it has increased for Congress which was satisfactory and encouraging for the party.

He said that increase in vote share was encouraging for the party workers.

"The vote share of Congress is around 41 per cent which increased as compared to Lok Sabha elections while BJP's vote share decreased as compared to the Lok Sabha elections which shows that the party is losing its confidence among the voters," Pilot said.

Of the 33 Zila Pramukhs, 18 are women, 10 from Congress and 8 from BJP. Nine Zila Pramukhs are graduates and as many secondary class pass, 8 post graduates, five senior secondary pass and two literate.

Of the 12 Congress Zila Pramukhs, 10 are women, 3 of them are post graduates and as many graduates.

BJP has won 3,018 seats and Congress 2,534 of the total 6,236 seats of Panchayat Samiti Members in the state.

Elections for Pradhans in Panchayat Samitis was also held today.

Meanwhile, two persons were injured in a clash which broke out between two groups of supporters of political parties in Khandar area of Sawaimadhopur district.

The injured were rushed to a hospital in Sawaimadhopur city in critical condition, police said, adding that there was report of firing and stone pelting.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link