Rajasthan bypolls: 11 candidates withdraw nominations

Last Updated: Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 23:21

 Jaipur: Eleven candidates on Saturday pulled out from the fray on the last day of withdrawing nominations for the bypolls to four Assembly constituencies in Rajasthan.

A total of 23 candidates are now in the fray for the bypolls after the withdrawal of nomination papers, Chief Election Officer Dr Govind Sharma said.

The bypolls are scheduled on Surajgarh, Weir, Kota (South) and Nasirabad Assembly constituencies on September 13. The elections were necessitated after the MLAs representing the Assembly seats were elected to the Lok Sabha after the parliamentary polls.

BJP Legislators Sanwar Lal Jat, Om Birla, Santosh Ahlawat and Bahadur Singh Koli represented Nasirabad, Kota (South), Surajgarh and Weir Assembly constituencies respectively before they were elected to the Lok Sabha.  


First Published: Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 23:21

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus