Rajasthan HC issues notices to Parliamentary Secretaries

A petition was filed by three BJP legislators challenging their appointment.

Jaipur: The Rajasthan High Court has issued notices to 13 Parliamentary Secretaries in connection with a petition filed by three BJP legislators challenging their appointment.

Issuing the notices yesterday, Justice RS Rathore sought their replies within ten days.

In April, the High Court had issued a notice to the state government in connection with the petition filed by BJP MLAs Kali Sharan Saraf, Rajpal Singh Shekhawat and Ashok Parnami.

In the petition, the legislators said the appointment of Parliamentary Secretaries had exceeded the strength of the Council of Ministers which should be 15 per cent of the total members of the Vidhan Sabha.

Yesterday, Advocate General GS Bapna had argued the Parliamentary Secretaries had been separated from Ministers.

However, he admitted the Parliamentary Secretaries had been accorded the status of Minister of the State (MoS).

The petitioners counsel said the number of Ministers could not go beyond 15 per cent of the state assembly members as per the constitutional provision.

The Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha has 200 members.
The number of Ministers should not be more than 30 in the state as per the law but there are 27 Ministers and 13 Parliamentary Secretaries with MoS status, the counsel said.

The Parliamentary Secretaries are Dilip Chaudhary, Brahmdev Kumawat, Nanalal Ninama, Ramkesh Meena, Ramesh Meena, Girraj Singh Malinga, Gajendra Singh, Jaideep Dudi, KL Jhanwar, Mamta Bhupesh, Rajendra Singh Bidhuri, Ramswaroop Kasana and Jahida Khan.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link