Seven Rajasthan ministers sworn-in

Seven Rajasthan ministers were sworn-in on Wednesday as CM Ashok Gehlot reshuffled his council of ministers.

Jaipur: Seven Rajasthan ministers were
sworn-in on Wednesday as Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot after dropping
five ministers reshuffled his council of ministers to give a
new look to his government battling allegations of sleaze and

All 27 ministers - 16 of cabinet rank and 11 junior
ministers - had given their resignation letters to the Chief
Minister yesterday. Regrouping his team, gehlot showed the
door to six ministers, picked five new ones, promoted one to
cabinet rank and re-inducted another.

While Manju Meghawal, Naseem Akhtar, Vinod Chaudhary,
Virendra Beniwal and Dayaram Parmar are the new faces, Amin
Khan has been reinducted and Ashok Bharwa elevated from MoS to
cabinet rank.

Beinwal and Parmar have been made Ministers of State with
independent charge. Khan, who had caused considerable
embarrassment by saying that President Pratibha Patil got the
top post due to her proximity with Sonia Gandhi, has also been
made MoS (Independent charge).

Governor Shivraj Patil administered them oath of
office at the swear-in ceremony in Raj Bhawan here.
Those who have been dropped are Bhanwarlal Meghawal
(education), Bharosilal Jatav (motor garage),Pramod Jain Bhaya
(PWD) and Golma Devi who had resigned earlier.

Ram Lal Jat, who had resigned as Minister of State for
Forest and Environment following allegation of being involved
with a woman, also finds no place in the new team.

Gehlot had sent the resignation letters of these five to
the Governor for acceptance.

The Chief Minister insisted that the rejig exercise has
nothing to do with Gopalgarh violence or the missing nurse


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link