London: Facebook has reportedly introduced a new feature that will allow people to have their account deleted permanently when they die or appoint a friend or family member to take care of some aspects of their account.
While bringing in the new feature, Facebook said that the decision was aimed at supporting people who were grieving and those who wanted a say in what happens to their account after death. The social media platform added, "When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experience," reported the BBC.
If a user chooses to allow someone to manage their Facebook page when they are dead, that person will be able to write a post to display at the top of the memorialised timeline, respond to new friend requests, update the profile picture and cover photo.
People can also choose to permit their legacy contact to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook.
However, other features will remain the same and the legacy contact will now be able to log in as the person who died or see their private messages.
The feature will initially only be available in the US.