NASA SMAP atop ULA Delta II rocket all set for launch today

 NASA SMAP atop ULA Delta II rocket all set for launch today

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is all set to launch the Soil Moisture Active Passive satellite (SMAP) mission today at 6:20 am PST (9:20 am EST; 1420 GMT).

Launch was originally planned for Thursday but got delayed by 24 hours, due to high winds, NASA said.

On its website, United Launch Alliance said: “During inspections following the January 29 launch attempt, minor debonds to the booster insulation were identified. These insulation debonds are associated with cryogenic conditions experienced during tanking operations and a standard repair will be implemented”.

The space agency's Soil Moisture Active Passive satellite (SMAP) mission is making another attempt to blast off atop a United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.

(With Agency inputs)

 

 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link

Close