This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Chronology of trial process in murder case of Mujib

Last Updated: Thursday, January 28, 2010 - 11:20

Dhaka: Following is the chronology of the trial process in the murder case of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and his family members in 1975:

  • September 26, 1975: Infamous Indemnity Ordinance is promulgated by self-proclaimed president Khondker Mushtaque Ahmed to protect the killers from justice. (Subsequent BNP government later ratified it as Indemnity Act in 1979).
  • June 23, 1996: Awami League under Sheikh Hasina returns to power after 21 years of political wilderness.
  • August 14, 1996: Three key accused in the murder – sacked Lieutenant colonels Syed Farook Rahman, Sultan Shahriar Rashid Khan and former state minister Taheruddin Thakur - arrested.
  • October 2, 1996: First Information Report (FIR) on the August 15, 1975 carnage is lodged.
  • October 3, 1996: CID launches investigation into the case.
  • November 14, 1996: Parliament scraps the Indemnity Act paving ways to bring the killers to justice.
  • July 21, 1998: Hearing of the last of the 61 prosecution witnesses (out of listed 74 PWs) ends with the cross-examination of investigating officer Abdul Kahhar Akhand.
  • October 13, 1998: The 17-month trial process ends on the 146th day of hearing.
  • November 8, 1998: Judge Kazi Golam Rasul hands down death penalties to 15 ex-Army officers.
  • December 14, 2000: High Court bench delivers split judgment after 28 days of hearing. Senior judge M Ruhul Amin upholds death penalties of 10 of the 15 and the other judge ABM Khairul Haque confirms the capital punishment to all the 15.
  • February 12, 2001: The concurrent death reference and appeal hearing begins at another High Court bench as the split judgement required the case to be referred to a third judge.
  • April 30, 2001: Third judge Mohammad Fazlul Karim confirms death sentences of 12 of the accused.
  • June 18, 2007: The US returns absconding convict ex-lieutenant AKM Mohiuddin to be brought to justice.
  • October 4, 2009: Chief Justice MM Ruhul Amin constitutes a five-member bench at the apex court for the appeal hearing.
  • November 12, 2009: Final hearing ends after 29 days.
  • November 19, 2009: Apex court dismisses appeal prayers upholding the High Court verdict.
  • January 9, 2010: Ex-lieutenant colonels AKM Mohiuddin, Mohiuddin Ahmed and ex-major Bazlul Huda seek presidential clemency.
  • January 9, 2010: The President rejects mercy petitions.
  • January 10, 2010: Ex-lieutenant colonels AKM Mohiuddin and ex-major Bazlul Huda file petitions seeking review of their verdict by the apex court itself.
  • January 11, 2010: Ex-lieutenant colonel Shahriar Rashid Khan files review petition.
  • January 19, 2010: Ex-lieutenant colonel Syed Faruq Rahman and Mohiuddin Ahmed seek review of their sentence.
  • January 27, 2010: Apex court rejects review petitions.
  • January 27, 2010: Ex-lieutenant colonel Syed Faruq Rahman files for clemency before President.
  • January 27, 2010: The President rejects mercy petitions.
  • January 28, 2010: All the five death row convicts are executed.


  • First Published: Thursday, January 28, 2010 - 11:20

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus