CPN-Marxist Leninist splits ahead of PM election in Nepal

Nepal Parliament will conduct a fourth runoff election for the post of PM.

Kathmandu: Hours before the fourth round of voting on Friday to elect a new Prime Minister in Nepal, a smaller communist party having nine members in Parliament has split, with the indications that new faction may support the Maoists.

The new party named CPN-ML(Socialist) was formed after the split of the CPN-Marxist Leninist-led by CP Mainali. The party-led by politburo member of the main party Jagat Bahadur Bogati has four members in the Constituent Assembly which has 601 members.

The members of the new party are Sharda Nepali, Yadubansha Jha, Tilak Thapa and Ganesh Chaudhari. The CPN-ML (Socialist) party is likely to caste vote in favour of UCPN-Maoist chief Prachanda during today`s voting.

Meanwhile, CPN-Marxist Leninist chief Mainali blamed the Maoists for hatching conspiracy to divide the party. Prachanda and Nepali Congress vice president Ramchandra Poudyal are in the race for the top post.

During the third round of election for the post of Prime Minister, the Maoists secured 259 votes which is 42 votes short of majority.

The Parliament session is scheduled to start today at 3 pm to elect the new Prime Minister.

However, the Parliament is unlikely to elect the new Prime Minister even today as the CPN-UML with the strength of 109 and the Madhesi front with their combine strength of 84 votes and other smaller parties have decided to remain neutral during the voting.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link