This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Pakistan National Assembly to elect Speaker tomorrow

Last Updated: Sunday, June 2, 2013 - 15:35

Islamabad: The Pakistan National Assembly will elect its Speaker and Deputy Speaker tomorrow, with two senior leaders of PML-N nominated for the posts.

Secretary National Assembly has accepted the nomination papers of Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) candidate Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the post of Speaker while Murtaza Javed Abbasi for that of Deputy Speaker, media reports said on Sunday.

Sadiq won National Assembly seat from NA-122 Lahore while Abbasi from NA-18 Abbottabad.
The National Assembly will elect its Speaker and Deputy Speaker tomorrow, while the leader of the house will be elected on Wednesday.

The main opposition Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) fielded Nawab Yousuf as its candidate for the office of the Speaker and Ghulam Rasool for Deputy Speaker.

Imran Khan`s Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Sheryar Afridi for the post of Speaker and Munazza Hasan for that of Deputy Speaker.

Talking to media Sadiq said if elected as speaker he will maintain impartiality while running the business of house.

Nomination papers of MQM parliamentarians S A Iqbal Qadri and Kishwar Zehra for the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker have also been accepted.

The nomination papers of all the candidates were declared valid and subsequently submitted in the National Assembly. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place today and the election for the posts will be held tomorrow.

After Monday`s secret ballot, outgoing Speaker Fehmida Mirza will administer the oath to the new Speaker.

Yesterday, Prime Minister-designate Sharif, 63, returned to Pakistan`s National Assembly fourteen years after his last stint as a parliamentarian when he took oath with other lawmakers in the first democratic transition of power in the country`s 66-year history.
The election of the premier is scheduled for June 5 as Sharif`s election as leader of the House is a foregone conclusion as the PML-N has over 180 members in the 342-strong National Assembly.
The first session of the 342-member National Assembly yesterday marked the first phase of transition of power in Islamabad and in the four provinces following the historic May 11 general election.


First Published: Sunday, June 2, 2013 - 15:34
comments powered by Disqus