This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Rehman Malik is Pakistan`s top electricity bill defaulter

Last Updated: Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 10:12

Islamabad: Former Pakistan interior minister Rehman Malik tops the list of politicians who have yet to pay their power bills, according to the Islamabad Electric Supply Company.

The company issued a list on March 24 of former federal ministers who were guilty of not paying their bills. The list included more than 21 names and included Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar, former Punjab governor Sardar Latif Khosa and Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza, reports The Express Tribune.

Malik tops the list, owing the company over Rs 4.7 million. Khosa`s outstanding arrears total over Rs 0.4 million while Mirza owes over Rs 0.3 million to the company.

Other defaulters include former prime minister Shaukat Aziz, former federal ministers Firdous Ashiq Awan, Sameera Malik, Sumsam Bukhari, Mian Manzoor Wattoo, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Ghous Bakhsh Mehar and Faisal Karim Kundi.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) sent the list to provincial election commissioners who will keep record for further investigation.

The ECP had earlier announced that anyone who is guilty of outstanding utility bills will not be eligible to participate in the upcoming polls.

Authorities are now formulating the list of defaulters to enable recovery of the payment before the elections.


First Published: Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 10:11
comments powered by Disqus