Three MQM lawmakers join Pak federal cabinet

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 11, 2011 - 00:42

Islamabad: Three Muttahida Qaumi Movement
(MQM) parliamentarians were on Tuesday inducted as federal
Pakistani ministers following the party`s decision to rejoin
the cabinet of Prime Minster Yusuf Raza Gilani.

Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath
of office to the three lawmakers. While Farooq Sattar and
Babar Ghouri took oath as the ministers, Nadeem Ehsan was
inducted as a minister of state.

The portfolios of the ministers will be decided later,
an official spokesman said.

The MQM, which had created a flutter earlier this year
by quitting and then rejoining the Pakistan People`s Party-led
ruling coalition, announced its decision to return to the
federal cabinet on May 4.

The MQM has said it decided to rejoin the cabinet
after the PPP agreed to address its reservations over the poor
law and order situation, the crippled economy and corruption.

The PPP-led government at the centre was reduced to a
minority on January 2 after the MQM pulled out of the
coalition, ostensibly to protest its failure to address the
people`s problems.

Five days later, it rejoined the coalition, restoring
its parliamentary majority.

The MQM`s return to the cabinet comes lose on the
heels of the opposition PML-Q`s decision to join the PPP-led


First Published: Wednesday, May 11, 2011 - 00:42

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus