Roscosmos to launch Soyuz spacecraft

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 13, 2011 - 08:50

Moscow: Roscosmos, the Russian space agency, will make a third attempt Wednesday to launch Soyuz-2.1, a space carrier with six US Globalstar-2 communications satellites, a spokesman for the agency said.

Globalstar is a low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite-based telecommunications system founded by US-based Loral Corporation and Qualcomm Inc. It provides high-quality satellite voice and data services across North America, and to over 120 countries worldwide.

"The launch is scheduled for 6.27 Moscow time (2.27 GMT). The separation of the satellites from the Fregat booster is scheduled for 8.39 Moscow time (4:39 GMT)," the spokesman said.

The launch of the spacecraft, equipped with a Fregat booster from the Baikonur space centre in Kazakhstan, was initially scheduled for July 11. It was later moved to July 12. Both launches were postponed due to various technical reasons.

Commercial launches of Soyuz carrier rockets are managed by Starsem, a European-Russian joint venture.

IANS



First Published: Wednesday, July 13, 2011 - 08:50

More from zeenews

 
comments powered by Disqus