Russia launches European telecom satellite

Last Updated: Monday, June 3, 2013 - 17:56

Moscow: A Russian launch vehicle carrying an SES-6 telecommunications satellite Monday lifted off from Kazakhstan`s Baikonur space centre.
“The launch took place at the scheduled time - 01.18 p.m. Moscow time (09.18 GMT),” a Khrunichev space company spokesperson said Monday.

“The separation of the SES-6 satellite from the Briz-M booster is expected in 15.5 hours, at 04.49 Moscow time (00.49 GMT) Tuesday,” he said.

Built by Astrium for global satellite operator SES World Skies on Eurostar 3000 platform, the SES-6 is equipped with 43 C-band and 48 Ku-band transponders and has a service life of 15 years.

The satellite will enable the delivery of next generation broadcast services, including HD video distribution and mobile services, to customers in North America, Latin America, Europe and the Atlantic region, the SES said on its website.

SES-6 will be the 53rd satellite in SES` global fleet.

IANS



First Published: Monday, June 3, 2013 - 17:56

comments powered by Disqus