Soyuz TMA-15 undocks in Moscow
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, December 01, 2009, 11:30
  
Moscow. In adding another cap to mankind’s quest for knowledge, Russian manned spacecraft Soyuz TMA-15, was undocked from International Space Station (ISS), Xinhua has informed from the Mission Control Center outside Moscow.

The spaceship, with three ISS crew members aboard, undocked from the station at 6:56 a.m. Moscow time (0356 GMT), the Mission Control said.

The spacecraft's reentry vehicle is to land near the town of Arkalyk in northern Kazakhstan at about 10:16 a.m. Moscow time (0716 GMT).

On board the spacecraft are Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne, Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko and Canadian Robert Thirsk.

De Winne, 48, the first European commander of the ISS, has already transferred authority to NASA astronaut Jeffrey Williams, and Romanenko officially handed over his duties to Maxim Surayev.

Williams and Surayev will work together on the ISS as members of the 22nd long-term expedition until they are joined by Oleg Kotov, Soichi Noguchi and T.J. Creamer, who are to be delivered to the ISS on board a Soyuz TMA-17 spacecraft on Dec. 21.

Bureau Report


First Published: Tuesday, December 01, 2009, 11:30


comments powered by Disqus