15 castes included in OBCs, six to VJNT in Maharashtra
Last Updated: Thursday, June 12, 2008, 00:00
Mumbai, June 12: Maharashtra cabinet on Thursday decided to include 15 castes in Other Backward Classes (OBC) and six to Vimukta Jati and Nomadic Tribes (VJNT) as suggested by the state backward classes commission.

The cabinet has decided to send a proposal to a committee headed by justice Ashok Agrawal for granting ST status to VJNTs.

The commission had okayed the proposal to include some castes into the OBC, SC/ST and special BC.

The castes included in the OBC list comrprise Lajhad, Ladshakhiya Vani, Merushimpi, Badgujar, Talwar Kanade, Devadiya, Mitkari Vinkar, Suthar, Vadhai, Kakar, Thiya Belcheda, Pathare Kshatriya Pachkalashi, Dhakad, Patawa, Dorik, and Khtri.

The castes given the status of VJNT are Sagar, Sharadakar, Kapewar, Tarunawadi, Gawalan, Chitodia Lohar and Puri.

Muslim Bhangi Mehtar and Salewar have been included as special backward classes identified by the commission. The commission is also trying to give the status of scheduled castes and scheduled tribes to Kaikadi community and a proposal has been sent to the Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Research and Training Institute, Pune.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, June 12, 2008, 00:00

comments powered by Disqus