Cong announces second list of candidates for Maha
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 23:02
New Delhi: Shiv Sena MLA from Mumbai Sada Sarbankar, who joined Congress a couple of days back, has been given ticket from Mahim in the second list of four Congress candidates announced by AICC on Thursday.

Sarbankar was denied ticket from Shiv Sena following the delimitation of his constituency.

Former minister Rohidas Patil has been fielded from Dhule Rural, while state Youth Congress chief Rajiv Satav is the candidate from Kalamnuri.

Neelesh Balasaheb Deshmukh Parvekar is the party nominee from Yavatmal, where PCC chief Manikrao Thakre was interested. Satav and Parvekar have been given tickets from the youth quota.

With AICC General Secretary Rahul Gandhi stressing on the induction of youth in the electoral process, a good number of young candidates have got tickets this time.

A decision is however pending on the seats in Latur and Sholapur districts from where Amit Deshmukh, son of Vilasrao Deshmukh and Praneti Shinde, daughter of Union Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde are aspirants.

With this, the party has announced its candidates for the 163 of the 174 seats it is contesting in alliance with Shiv Sena for the 288-member Maharashtra assembly.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 23:02

comments powered by Disqus