Coordination committee for Haryana Congress
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Saturday, November 07, 2009, 18:53
New Delhi: In a bid to check factionalism in the Haryana unit of Congress, party President Sonia Gandhi on Saturday constituted a coordination committee for the state to ensure smooth functioning of the government.

AICC General Secretary in-charge of the state, Prithviraj Chavan will be the Chairman of the seven-member committee while a known detractor of chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Birendra Singh, is the co-chairman.

The other members of the committee are Hooda, PCC President Phool Chand Mullana, Union Minister Kumari Selja, Ram Prakash and Ajay Singh Yadav.

There was a strong campaign by some Haryana leaders to remove Hooda after the party under his leadership managed to win only 40 of the 90 seats in the recently-held assembly elections. Hooda had to take the support of seven independent MLAs and one from the BSP to form the government in the state.

The 13-day-old Hooda government in Haryana was today expanded with induction of six Cabinet-rank ministers and two Ministers of State.

Hooda's detractor and minister in the previous government Kiran Chaudhary was not inducted in the Cabinet.

Bureau Report

First Published: Saturday, November 07, 2009, 18:53

comments powered by Disqus