Maha Guv honours cops with medals for fighting 26/11 attacks
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 21:35
Mumbai: Maharashtra Governor Kateekal Sankaranarayanan on Tuesday honoured 68 policemen, many of whom fought during 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks in 2008, with medals for displaying bravery during the crisis.

Of the 33 policemen who fought terrorists during the 60-hour siege, 12 were given President's Police Medals while the rest were given Police Gallantary awards.

Seven policemen who lost their lives in the attacks were honoured posthumously with President's Police medals. The seven policemen's names are: PSI Prakash Pandurang More, PSI Bapurao Durgude, PSI Balwant Bhosale and constables - Vijay Khandekar, Jaywant Patil, Yogesh Patil and Rahul Shinde.

Additional Commissioner Sadanand Date who sustained injuries during the terror attack at Cama Hospital was also honoured with President's Police Medal.

A total of 12 President's Police Medals, 23 Police Gallantary Medals and 33 Police Medals for meritorious service were presented at an investiture ceremony by the Governor K Sankaranarayanan at Raj Bhavan.

Talking to reporters after the function, 59-year-old Shivaji Patil, a retired assistant sub-inspector and father of constable Yogesh Patil who was conferred the President's Police Medal, expressed displeasure at the honour conferred on his late son.

He said Yogesh was part of the team led by Hemant Karkare, Vijay Salaskar and Ashok Kamte and laid down his life along with his three superiors fighting the terrorists.

"Then why did the government not confer Ashok Chakra on my son which was given to the three senior cops," he questioned.

"I was thinking not to attend the ceremony today. At the last moment I changed my mind and attended the function," he said.


First Published: Tuesday, January 26, 2010, 21:35

comments powered by Disqus