Meghalaya assembly by-poll today
Last Updated: Tuesday, August 18, 2009, 09:13
Shillong: The by-poll to the Laitumkhrah assembly constituency in Meghalaya will be held Tuesday.

Altogether six candidates, including a cabinet minister, are in fray in the by-poll.

The bye-election to the seat was necessitated following the resignation of the state's lone woman legislator Ampareen Lyngdoh as MLA on March 31.

Lyngdoh, now a non-member of the assembly with the portfolio of education in the DD Lapang-led cabinet, had resigned from the seat as well as from the regional United Democratic Party (UDP) before joining the Congress in April ahead of the collapse of the erstwhile NCP-led Meghalaya Progressive Alliance government of which the UDP was a part.

UDP, which is also a partner in the present Congress-led alliance government, has fielded its veteran member Malcolm Tariang.

Also in the fray are four other candidates -- Stephen Nongbet (BJP), Remeo Phira Rani (Hill State Peoples Democratic Party) and two independents George Garry Lyngdoh and Andrew Aibok Jyrwa.

Laitumkrah constituency has always been considered as the strong hold of Lyngdoh family. Before Ampareen, the seat was represented by her brother Robert G Lyngdoh and their father late PG Marbaniang.

The counting will take place on August 21.

Bureau Report

First Published: Tuesday, August 18, 2009, 09:13

comments powered by Disqus