TDP revamps organisation, many new faces in politburo
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, September 28, 2009, 15:56
Hyderabad: Telugu Desam Party on Monday revamped its organisational structure with party president N Chandrababu Naidu appointing a 20-member Politburo, which includes several new faces.

Besides, the party has also appointed 12 general secretaries, 56 executive secretaries, 55 secretaries and 15 vice-presidents to the state committee with attention being given on striking a balance between youth and experience.

The re-constituted Politburo, the top decision-making body of the party, has seven new members while former Home Minister T Devender Goud has been left out.

Goud was considered the number-two in the TDP, next only to Chandrababu Naidu, before he quit the party in June 2008 to launch his own outfit Nava Telangana Party. Goud subsequently merged his outfit with Chiranjeevi's Praja Rajyam Party and quit the latter to return to the TDP two months ago. He has not been accommodated in any of the party committees.

Kothakota Seeta Dayakar Reddy, an MLA, has been appointed president of Telugu Mahila, the party's women wing. She succeeds actress Roja who quit the TDP last month with the intention to join the Congress but now finds herself nowhere after the death of former chief minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy.

The Editor of an Urdu newspaper 'Siyasat', Jahed Ali Khan, who unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha election this year from Hyderabad, found a place in the TDP Politburo.

Bureau Report

First Published: Monday, September 28, 2009, 15:56

comments powered by Disqus