This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

AIADMK nominee files nomination for RS bypoll

PTI | Last Updated: Monday, June 16, 2014 - 16:22

Chennai: Ruling AIADMK nominee A Navaneethakrishnan on Monday filed his nomination for the July 3 by-election to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu to fill the vacancy caused by the disqualification of DMK member T M Selvaganapathy following his conviction in a corruption case.

A former advocate general, Navaneethakrishnan filed his papers before Assembly Secretary A M P Jamaludeen, also the Returning Officer, as nomination opened today with the Election Commission issuing the notification for the byelection, an official release said here.
Last date for filing of nomination is June 23 and scrutiny would on the next day. Last date for withdrawal is June 26 and if needed, polling would be held on July 3 and votes counted on the same day.
AIADMK is assured of winning the seat as it has a strength of 151 in the 234-member Assembly. The party at present has ten members in the Rajya Sabha.

Selvaganapathy, a former AIADMK minister, and four others were sentenced to two years rigorous imprisonment by Special CBI Judge S Malathi in Chennai on April 17 last in connection with alleged irregularities construction of cremation sheds in Nagapattinam District during the 1991-96 AIADMK regime. He had joined the DMK a few years ago.

Meanwhile, the Returning Officer in a release said, nominations would be received on June 21 (Saturday) also, though it is a government holiday.

First Published: Monday, June 16, 2014 - 16:22

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus