This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

AP: 32 TDP MLAs from Telangana resign

Last Updated: Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 20:30

Hyderabad: With the movement for
Telangana gathering steam, 32 MLAs from the region belonging
to main opposition TDP on Wednesday resigned from the state assembly
in support of the demand for a separate state.

It is for the second time that the TDP MLAs have
sought to quit their seats in the legislature to press for
Telangana statehood after the Speaker rejected their
resignations in July.

The MLAs handed over their resignations to the
Secretary of the House S Raja Sadaram as Speaker Nadendla
Manohar was not available.

The TDP legislators from Telangana held a meeting here
this morning and decided to put in their papers afresh and
even wanted the Congress MLAs from the region to quit with

Sources in the party said, they waited in the Telugu
Desam Legislature Party office for more than six hours for the
Congress MLAs to join them, but when nobody turned up, they
submitted their resignations without their company.

However, TDP MLA from Kamareddy Gampa Govardhan did
not accompany them.


First Published: Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 20:30

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus