This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Cong-DMK identify constituencies

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 - 14:46

Chennai: After protracted negotiations and hard
bargaining, the Congress and DMK on Tuesday reached an agreement on
the constituencies they would contest for the April 13
assembly polls.

The Congress has been allotted five seats in Chennai, a DMK
bastion, out of the 63 earmarked for it under the
seat-sharing deal. In the last elections, Congress was
allotted 48 seats.
Under the pact, DMK will contest 121 seats, PMK 30,
Viduthlalai Chiruthaigal Katchi 10, Kongu Nadu
Munnetra Kazhagam 7, IUML two and Moovender Munetra Kazhagam
one, the last two seeking election on the DMK symbol.

Unlike in the past, the Congress maintained a tough
posture during the negotiations on seat-sharing and
identification of constituencies.


First Published: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 - 14:46
comments powered by Disqus