Court refuses to recall NBW against ex-AIADMK ministers

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 23:59

Madurai: A local court on Wednesday refused to
recall the non-bailable warrant against AIADMK treasurer and
former Chief Minister O Pannerselvam and 18 other partymen in
a case pertaining to alleged damage to public property during
an assembly bye-election campaign.

Meanwhile, in another development, the Madras High Court
bench posted their anticipatory bail application hearing to
January 18.
The Judicial Magistrate of Tirumangalam, Nagaraj had on
January 7 issued the NBW against Panneerselvam, former
ministers K A Sengottaiyan, `Pollachi` Jayaraman and 17 others
for allegedly damaging vehicles and public property during
campaigning in 2008 for the Tirumangalam assembly bye-election
in 2009.

Though the JM refused to recall the NBW earlier today,
the High Court was not informed of the order. Hence, Justice C
T Selvam said he would take up the case on January 18 as it
was pending before the Magistrate.

Police had filed cases against the AIADMK members on
December 12, 2008 on charges including rioting, rioting with
arms, attempt to murder and preventing public servants from
discharging their duty.

The Assistant Public Prosecutor, who opposed recall of
the NBW, said the accused had deliberately disobeyed the
summons as they "knew very well" that chargesheet was being
filed against them. As they had been named as absconding
persons, the warrant should not be cancelled, he argued.

Police had on January 7 said the accused had been named
as absconding and filed a chargesheet against them as they had
not obtained anticipatory bail.
Accepting the argument of the Assistant Public
Prosecutor, the JM refused to recall the warrant. He also
refused the plea of Panneerselvam and others to convert it
into a summons.

"We have been implicated owing to political enmity.
Besides Panneerselvam, Jayaraman and Sengottaiyan are MLAs and
the assembly session was going on. Hence they could not come,"
argued the counsel for the petitioners.

The former AIADMK ministers and other petitioners said
they had gone to Eliyarpathi village to meet party speaker
Ramarajan, whose car was `attacked` by rivals. However, later
developments saw a case being registered against them and 62
others on the charge of pelting stones at police vehicles,
they said.

AIADMK MLA R Samy and 51 others were arrested in
connection with the case and later released on bail.


First Published: Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 23:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus