DMK forms six-member committee to strengthen district units

Last Updated: Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 15:09

Chennai: Acting on its recent resolution at the high-level working group meet to restructure district units and galvanise party cadre for effective functioning after its rout in the Lok Sabha polls, DMK today announced the formation of a six-member committee to make them function effectively.

The committee has been formed to strengthen DMK at district units, besides making them work efficiently, a party statement said.

The committee members are S Thiruvengadam, T S Kalyanasundaram, R Rajamanickam, former minister Thangam Thennarasu, MLA, advocate K S Radhakrishnan and S L T Sachidanandam, it said.
Formation of the committee was in line with one of the resolutions passed at the party`s June 2 high-level working committee, chaired by DMK President M Karunanidhi.

The committee will also have the task of identifying deficiencies noticed during the April 24 LS polls and recommend corrective measures.

DMK failed to win a single seat out of the 34 it contested in Tamil Nadu, besides the Puducherry segment. Its allies who contested the rest of the seats also drew a blank in the polls. 


First Published: Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 15:09

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus