DMK ministers arrive in Delhi, say will resign

The Congress had demanded 63 seats for state Assembly Elections, while DMK agreed to offer only 60.

New Delhi: Union ministers belonging to the DMK arrived here Monday morning, two days after the party decided to pull out from the Manmohan Singh government, even as hectic talks with the Congress leadership continued.

While D Napoleon, one of the ministers, told reporters that the DMK`s six ministers would submit their resignation to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, there was no confirmation from the Prime Minister`s Office (PMO) about an appointment with them.

"We have no information yet on an appointment," said a PMO official.

Congress sources said party leaders in Delhi were in touch with the DMK top brass in Chennai. Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee had spoken to former union minister TR Baalu, urging him to reconsider the DMK decision.

The DMK and Congress decided to pull out of the central government after differences over seat sharing talks for the upcoming Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu.

The DMK has two cabinet ministers - Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister MK Alagiri and Textiles Minister Dayanidhi Maran - and four junior ministers - SS Palanimanickam (Finance), S Jagathrakshakan (Information and Broadcasting), D Napoleon (Social Justice and Empowerment) and S Gandhiselvan (Health and Family Welfare) - in the UPA government.