Jaya orders delimitation of 81 villages in Kanyakumari dist

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 18:03

Chennai: Citing high population density, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Wednesday ordered delimitation of 81 revenue villages in Kanyakumari district and creation of 107 new villages and an equal number of Village Administrative Officer and Village Assistant posts.

At the end of the delimitation, there would be 188 revenue villages in the district, an official release said.
The decision was taken as the district has a high population density ranging from 30,000 to one lakh in each revenue villages. Also, Some parts of municipalities and municipal panchayats fall under the 81 villages.

The revenue villages spread across Agasteeswaram and Thovalai Taluks of Nagercoil Revenue Division and Kalkulam Vilavancode Taluks of Padmanabhapuram Revenue Division would undergo the delimitation and 107 new revenue villages would be created, it said.
Posts of Village Administrative Officer and Village Assistants would be created to be posted in the 107 new revenue villages, it said.

This would cost the exchequer a sum of Rs 5.60 crore and a recurring expense of Rs 2.68 crore per annum, it added.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 17:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus