This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Nine convicted for Coimbatore blasts released

Last Updated: Tuesday, September 15, 2009 - 15:38

Coimbatore: Nine persons, convicted for
their involvement in 1998 serial blasts here which left 58
people dead, were released on Tuesday following Tamil Nadu
government`s decision to grant remission to mark the birth
centenary celebrations of DMK founder CN Annadurai.

The convicts, members of outlawed Al-Umma, were sentenced
to 13 years in jail by a special court for carrying out the
blasts during the visit of BJP leader LK Advani for
electioneering in 1998, jail authorities said.

The state government has ordered release of 10 convicts,
who have completed 10 years of imprisonment.

However, only nine -- Mohammed Ibrahim, Abdul Rahim,
Abdul Faooq, Abbas, Mohammed Rafeek, Abdul Raub, Ashraff,
Bakruddin Ali Ahmed and Shahul Hameed -- were released today.

Shahjahan was not released as he is facing trial in other
cases, the authorities said.

Nineteen bombs went off at different places here,
including one at Advani`s meeting venue, on February 14, 1998.

166 persons were arrested in connection with the blasts.

The Special Court had sentenced 57 persons for various
terms, including life, under various sections of IPC and
Explosives Act and Arms Act.

Bureau Report

First Published: Tuesday, September 15, 2009 - 15:38
comments powered by Disqus