Six new TN ministers sworn-in

In the third reshuffle in less than six months, six ministers were inducted into the Tamil Nadu cabinet.

Chennai: In the third reshuffle in less than
six months, six ministers were on Sunday inducted into the Tamil Nadu cabinet to replace an equal number who were sacked by
Chief Minister Jayalalithaa.

Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office to the
new ministers at Raj Bhavan in the presence of Jayalalithaa,
who in a sudden move dropped the ministers on various grounds,
including non-performance, two days ago.
The new ministers are S Damodaran (Agriculture), R
Kamaraj (Food), S Sundararaj (Handlooms and Textiles), M
Paranjothi (Hindu Religious and Endowments), V Moorthy (Milk
and Dairy Development) and K T Rajenthra Bhalaji (Information
and Special Programme Implementation).

C Shamugavelu, R B Udhyakumar, S P Shanmuganathan, G
Senthamizhan, Budhichandiran and N R Sivapathy had faced the
axe as ministers.

A month after storming to power in May, Jayalalithaa had
dropped Law Minister Isakki Subbaiah and allotted his
portfolio to Senthamizhan.
She then inducted Chendur Pandiyan as Rural Industries
minister and Mohammedjohn as a replacement to Mariam Pitchai,
who died in a road mishap even before taking oath as MLA.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link