This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

TN: Two new ministers sworn-in

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 21:14

Chennai: Two newly appointed Ministers of Jayalalithaa-led Tamil Nadu Cabinet were sworn-in Tuesday.

Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office to Tourism Minister S P Shunmuganathan and Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare Abdul Rahim, replacing two ministers axed by Chief Minister Jayalalithaa yesterday.

With the induction of the new ministers, all first-time MLAs, the strength of the Cabinet remains at 33.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Raj Bhavan here in presence of Jayalalithaa.

Jayalalithaa had dropped Labour Minister S T Chellapandian
and Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare A Mohammedjan from the council of ministers.

S P Shunmuganathan represents Srivaikuntam constituency, while S Abdul Rahim represents Avadi in the Assembly.
Jayalalithaa had also yesterday re-allocated portfolios of three ministers.

Forests Minister K T Pachamal would henceforth handle the
portfolio of Labour while P Chendur Pandian, till now Tourism Minister, would be the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Minister.

The portfolio of Forests was allocated to M S M Anandan,
hitherto looking after HR and CE.


First Published: Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 21:14
comments powered by Disqus