This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections 2016 Results


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 3
TMC 0 211
CPM+ 0 32
CONG 0 44
OTH 0 4

Tamil nadu (234)

Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
AIADMK 0 134
DMK+ 0 98
DMDK+ 0 0
OTH 0 0

Assam (126)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 86
CONG+ 0 26
AIUDF+ 0 13
OTH 0 1

Kerala (140)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 1
LDF 0 82
UDF 0 47
OTH 0 10


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
CONG+ 0 17
OTH 0 9

Will not support any party in Tamil Nadu Assembly polls: MK Alagiri

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 19, 2016 - 15:19

Chennai: Expelled former DMK strongman MK Alagiri on Tuesday said he will not support any party in the May 16 Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu.

"No support for anyone. That's all," was the Madurai leader's cryptic response when reporters asked him whom he will support in the coming election.

"It applies to my supporters also," he added.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, leaders, including MDMK founder Vaiko and BJP's H Raja had called on Alagiri in an apparent effort to get his support.

Vaiko had contested from Virudhunagar and Raja from Sivaganga, both South Tamil Nadu constituencies.

Alagiri, elder son of DMK president M Karunanidhi, had enjoyed tremendous clout as party's organisation secretary South, when DMK was in power between 2006 and 2011.

However, he fell out of favour with the party leadership following a power tussle with younger sibling MK Stalin, resulting in his suspension and expulsion later.

Alagiri had recently called on Karunanidhi here, triggering speculation of his homecoming but Stalin had dismissed any such move, saying there was no politics behind the meeting. 

First Published: Tuesday, April 19, 2016 - 15:19
comments powered by Disqus