Telangana Rashtra Samithi wins Achampet, Warangal, Khammam civic polls

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi continued its victorious march in Telangana by posting a resounding victory in the municipal elections.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi wins Achampet, Warangal, Khammam civic polls

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on Wednesday gained big in the municipal elections in Khammam and Warangal municipal corporations and Achampet municipality in Mahbubnagar district.

In Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation, the second biggest city in Telangana after Hyderabad, TRS bagged 44 wards among the total 58, followed by Independents (8), Congress (4) and one each by BJP and CPI(M).

In Khammam Municipal Corporation, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) nominees emerged victorious in as many as 34 among the total 50 wards. The main opposition Congress salvaged some pride by winning 10. The CPI, CPI (M) and YSR Congress secured two each. Khammam is represented in Lok Sabha by YSR Congress' P Srinivasa Reddy.

Shockingly, the Telugu Desam Party failed to open account in both the Corporations.

The TRS won all the 20 wards of Achampet Nagar Panchayat in Mahabubnagar district.

The stupendous victory of TRS in the three urban local bodies comes after the massive win in bypolls of Medak and Warangal Lok Sabha constituencies, and the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections.

The disappointing defeat adds to the misery of TDP, a formidable force in Telangana not too long ago, in the wake of 10 of its total 15 MLAs shifting loyalty to TRS in recent months.

Two more TDP MLAs in Telangana are likely to cross over to TRS soon.

This is also the first time since 2014 General Elections that the BJP and TDP, who are partners at the Centre and Andhra Pradesh, fought the elections without an alliance.

Around 68 percent voter turnout was recorded in the Khammam Municipal Corporation elections that took place on March 06 . This was the first election after the formation of Khammam Municipal Corporation.

Also, around 58.60 percent voter turnout was recorded for the Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation held on the same day.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link