This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Akhilesh takes oath as legislative council member

Last Updated: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - 00:36

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Monday took oath as a member of the legislative council. The 38-year-old Chief Minister was recently elected unopposed to the upper house.

Along with the CM, 10 other members were also sworn-in as members.

They included Ambika Chaudhary, Umar Ali Khan, Naresh Chandra Uttam, Madhu Gupta, Rajendra Chaudhary, Ram Sakal Gurjar and Vijay Yadav (all Samajwadi Party), Mahendra Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Chaudhary Mushtaq of the Rashtriya Lok Dal.

Three members of the Bahujan Samaj Party, Thakur Jayveer Singh, Vijay Prakash and Sunil Kumar, did not turn up for the ceremony.
Akhilesh Yadav quit the Kannauj Lok Sabha constituency last week. He has represented the Parliamentary constituency thrice.


First Published: Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - 00:36

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus