EC starts drive to enrol Muzaffarnagar riot refugees in voter list

Last Updated: Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 16:19

Muzaffarnagar: To facilitate enrolment of people displaced during Muzaffarnagar riots in electoral list, the Election Commission has launched a special drive in 22 villages where the riots victims have been rehabilitated.

Nodal officers have been asked to carry the task in the villages where the victims have been rehabilitated after the riots in the district in September last year, Acting District Magistrate Ravinder Godbole said today.
The villages where the drive is being carried out are Shahpur, Budhan, Jogiyakheri, Mandwara, Jolla, Vigyana, Habibpur, Sikri, Husainpur, Kala, Kalyanpur, Shikarpur, Harsoli, Baghra, Sanjak, Tawli, Riwavli, Nagla, Loee, Khampur, Basikala and Sarai.
More than 60 people were killed and over 50,000 were displaced during the riots in Muzaffarnagar and adjoining areas.

First Published: Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 16:19
comments powered by Disqus