This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Mata Prasad Pandey elected as UP Assembly Speaker

Last Updated: Friday, April 13, 2012 - 14:02

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party leader and MLA from Itwa constituency Mata Prasad Pandey was on Friday elected unopposed as the Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Assembly.

Pandey, whose nomination was the only one filed for the post, was today declared elected, official sources said.

Newly-elected MLAs of all the parties, including Independents, supported Pandey`s candidature, they said.

This will be Pandey`s second stint as Speaker. He had previously held the post during the last Samajwadi Party regime, under Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Pandey has been elected to the Assembly six times. He takes over from BSP`s Sukhdeo Rajbhar, who was the Speaker in the 15th Assembly.

Leaders of all political parties, including Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, congratulated Pandey`s election and promised him support in the smooth running of the House.


First Published: Friday, April 13, 2012 - 14:02
comments powered by Disqus