Mayawati drops nearly half of sitting MLAs

The BSP has denied tickets to nearly half of its sitting MLAs for the coming Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls.

Lucknow: Under attack from opposition
parties over the corruption issue and to present a clean image
before voters, the BSP has denied tickets to nearly half of
its sitting MLAs for the coming Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls.

"The party has dropped around 100 sitting MLAs, including
ministers, from its list of candidates released by party
supremo Mayawati yesterday," a senior party functionary said.

An indication that several sitting MLAs may not get
tickets became visible around two months back when Mayawati
launched the cleansing drive showing the door to several
ministers and members of the Assembly.

Interestingly, majority of the ministers and MLAs, shown
door by the BSP supremo, were those who joined the party
before or after 2007 Assembly elections.

Prominent ministers who were shown the door by Mayawati
include Avadhpal Singh, Badshah Singh, Fateh Bahadur Singh,
Yashpal Singh and Ratan Lal Ahirwar.

Mayawati had yesterday said that while selecting
candidates attention was given that they have a clean image,
were dedicated towards the BSP movement and give attention to
development in their respective areas.

"Special attention was given as in last Assembly
elections a number of wrong people from other parties managed
to get ticket of our party," she said.

Mayawati said that after winning elections such people
instead of giving attention towards development of area and
interest of people, got involved in wrong activities out of
personal interest and made all efforts to malign the image of
the party and the government.

"Such people also spoilt the old cadre of the party, due
to which stern action has to be taken against such ministers
and MLAs. Due to this reason they were also denied ticket,"
she said.

Mayawati said that the party was of the view that the
movement could not progress in the right direction by keeping
such MLAs and ministers.

"This time giving priority to the movement, tickets have
been given accordingly so that after winning elections
candidates should give priority to development of their
respective areas and interests of the people," she said.

"To present a clean image before the electorates during
polls, the party this time has decided to opt for fresh faces,
preferring those who had been associated with the movement
from longtime," he said.

However, some of the tainted ministers have been retained
by the party.

For instance, the party has fielded Rajesh Tripathi and
Rangnath Mishra, who were removed from their posts after being
indicted by Uttar Pradesh Lokayukta.

In 2007 elections, BSP fielded 86 Brahmins, 61 Muslims,
89 dalits, 120 OBCs and 47 others. Of this 42 Brahmins, 29
Muslims, 59 dalits, 55 OBCs and 16 others made to the

This time also the party has repeated the formula by
accommodating all sections of the society in its list of

"Tickets have been given to 88 SC candidates, 113 OBC, 85
religious minorities, specially Muslims, 117 upper caste, of
which 74 are Brahmins and 33 Chattriyas," Mayawati had said


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link