Mulayam accuses Congress of "humiliating" its senior leaders

Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav has said that had ND Tiwari, ex-UP CM, been in SP, he would have been a big name among socialist leaders.

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav on Sunday accused the Congress of "humiliating" its senior leaders.

Addressing a gathering here at Janeshwar Mishra park on his birthday, Yadav while pointing towards former UP and Uttarakahand Chief Minister ND Tiwari said, "Had he been in SP, he would have been a big name among socialist leaders".

"Due to circumstances, he joined Congress. There should be "kripa" (blessings) to remain in this party. He was removed as he did not enjoy the 'kripa'", Yadav said adding that the party (Congress) "humiliates" its leaders.

At the programme, a 'Monumental Flag' featuring the national tricolour was unfurled atop a 207 feet high mast in the park by Chief minister Akhilesh Yadav.

Recalling his father's contribution, Akhilesh said he had many times scolded party leaders but it shaped their life and they were fortunate.

"We will run the SP on the direction shown by him (Mulayam) and continue to fight for the cause of common man. He had been CM and also made me CM of the state. I would have not become CM, without him," Akhilesh said.

The birthday of Mulayam Singh Yadav was celebrated across the state, where seminars were organised to highlight the political struggle and achievements of 'netaji' (Mulayam), SP spokesman Rajendra Chowdhury said.

Front organisations held blood donation camps, distributed fruits in hospitals, clothes to the poor and also organised cultural programmes, he said.

At party headquarters here, cakes were cut by party general secretary Arvind Singh Gope and senior leaders Bhagwati Singh and others.

Cakes weighing 76 kg were also cut in various districts by partymen to celebrate birthday of their leader.

Samajwadi party was set up on November 4, 1992 at the Begum Hazrat Mahal Park in Lucknow and Mulayam Singh was elected as the national chief. He continues to be elected unopposed for last 23 years.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link