This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Muzaffarnagar riots: Chargesheet filed against 2 BJP MLAs

Last Updated: Thursday, November 14, 2013 - 14:36

Muzaffarnagar: A Special Investigation Team has filed its first charge sheet in the Muzaffarnagar riots against11 accused, including BJP MLAs Suresh Rana and Bhartendu Singh, for allegedly violating prohibitory orders, among other offences.
According to SIT sources, the charge sheet was filed in court against the 11 accused under sections 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 188 (disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant) and 341 (punishment for wrongful restraint) of the IPC, besides seven criminal acts here yesterday.

The district authorities had banned the meeting held in Nagla on August 31.

Former block Pramukh Virender Singh, local BJP leader Subhash Baliyan, Umesh, Malik, Yogender, Sachin, Ravinder Kala and two others were also named in the chargesheet.

The SIT is investigating over 500 riot cases in the district that left 62 people dead and thousands homeless.

First Published: Thursday, November 14, 2013 - 14:36
comments powered by Disqus