This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Rajbhar replaces Maurya as BSP president in UP

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 12:41

Zeenews Bureau

Lucknow: The parliamentary board of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Wednesday removed Swami Prasad Maurya as the president of the party’s Uttar Pradesh unit chief.

According to reports, the decision in this regard was taken during a crucial meeting of top BSP MPs and MLAs, which began in the state’s capital this morning.

During the meeting, the BSP MPs endorsed the name of Ramachal Rajbhar to take charge as the new state president of the party from Maurya.

Ever since the Samajawadi Party led by Mulayam Singh Yadav defeated the Mayawati government in the recently concluded Assembly Election, it was speculated that Maurya, a former cabinet minister in the BSP government, and several others will be removed from their posts.
The present reshuffle in the BSP’s rank is part of the organizational restructuring promised by the party supremo Mayawati soon after her party’s electoral debacle.

Maurya is presently the Leader of Opposition in the UP State Assembly.

First Published: Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 12:34
comments powered by Disqus