This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

SP to field women candidates from Agra seats in 2014

Last Updated: Sunday, October 6, 2013 - 14:31

Agra: The Samajwadi Party has decided to field two women candidates for the Agra City and Agra Rural (Fatehpur Sikri) Lok Sabha seats.

Instead of Rajendra Singh, whose candidature had been announced, the party will now nominate Pakshlika Singh, of the royal family of the erstwhile Bhadawar state, in Fatehpur Sikri.

Her husband, Raja Aridaman Singh, is a cabinet minister in the Akhilesh Yadav government.

The Agra City candidate will be Sarika Baghael, who won the last Lok Sabha election from Hathras on Ajit Singh`s Rashtriya Lok Dal ticket. She later defected to the Samajwadi Party.

Fatehpur Sikri is presently represented by Seema Upadhyaya of the Bahujan Samaj Party who trounced cine star-turned-politician Raj Babbar.

Raj Babbar later won from Firozabad as a Congress candidate, defeating Dimple Yadav of the Samajwadi Party.

The Congress is toying with the idea of fielding Raj Babbar from Fatehpur Sikri.


First Published: Sunday, October 6, 2013 - 14:31

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus